Repurposing of content

  • Re purposing and diversification  is a big part of the media landscape in the 21st century. For my blog i have re-purposed several content to adapt to my pieces which consist of the following ;
  1. Two written news stories which i submitted for journalism subjects at my university. These are the feature story on Melbourne archaeology and the tales from the trenches of Gallipoli. I added photos sourced from Google to these and changed some basic wording along with adding external links. This was done to appeal to my audience.
  2. Sections of my old lecture notes from middle eastern archaeology, a unit i undertook in my undergraduate degree in 2003  were re-purposed. My post on an overview of what middle eastern archaeology is basically comes from these notes.
  3. The various YouTube videos i have inserted into some of my posts have been  repurposed  into my blog and linked of course to my arguments. These videos have undergone several stages of repurposing as often they have been screened on a television network than adopted to YouTube and then adopted to my blog. I don’t own the content though so its been remixed.
  4. Sections of my diary of the Merri Creek bunker dig 2007-2009 were repurposed as i selected relevant passages from it to  write up my post on the bunker. In addition the photos i took of the dig which originally were  in an archaeological piece i wrote were added to my  blog.
  5. The numerous photos in my posts  i have taken from Google are all repurposed as well as remixed from other sites and applied to my blog. One example is my use of Tintin pictures which i have taken from several websites. These pictures  originally came from the illustrations  of Herge the creator of Tintin and then they have been repurposed over the years into many different mediums on the internet as well into different  mediums in print format. What we seen then is repurposing and remixing on a huge global scale.
  6. My posts  on Nazi bunkers discovered off the Danish Coast in 2008 as well Pyramids found in Egypt  were repurposed as well as remixed from  online news articles i found. I extracted some of the information and photos featured to write up my piece.
  7.  I took a quote from UNSECO chief of staff found on the unsei website and inserted it into my post on Syria’s ancient past in ruins. This quote was origianlly used in a press release then used on unis webpage and then adopted for my post.
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.